Return to Headlines

Nine Seniors are 2022 National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists

Charleston County School District (CCSD) is near the top of the state with 28 Semifinalists in the 67th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. The National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) released the names of approximately 16,000 Semifinalists last week.

The following Wando students are 2022 Semifinalists: 

Claire E. Andersen

Maddox R. Barron

Bailey M. Chave

Samuel J. Desantis

Nolin P. Harris

Jett M. McGrath

Akanksha S. Patwardhan

Sarah G. Rickborn

Ryan L. Teachman


Wando has nine NMSC Semifinalists for the second time in three years, nearly equaling their school record of 10 (2017).

"The faculty and staff celebrate and salute our nine NMSC Semifinalists," added Wando Principal Dr. Sherry Eppelsheimer. "Their effort and commitment to excellence are reasons for their academic success so far and will carry them throughout their educational career.”

High school juniors entered the 2022 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2020 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT), which served as an initial screen of program entrants. The nationwide pool of Semifinalists, representing less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors, includes the highest-scoring entrants in each state. The number of Semifinalists in a state is proportional to the state’s percentage of the national total of graduating seniors. 

For more information and news on 21 other CCSD students who NMSC Semifinalist, please see the full article on the district website.