Return to Headlines

Friday, April 3rd Update from Ms. Spencer AND School Choice Information

Blackboard Blast

April 3, 2020

Dear Raptor community,

As we begin Spring Break, I want to thank all of you most sincerely for the tremendous partnership of Raptor spirit that has been evident over these past three weeks of unprecedented personal and professional adjustment.  While our community’s health and wellness are our first priorities, we also know that each of you expects the very best learning experience at Academic Magnet. I do not believe we have let each other down, and this “village” has truly come together in our students’ best interests.  Over the next few days, may you find some peace and joy in the small yet beautiful moments of life that keep us all connected.

To our students: Do take time to enjoy your Spring Break.  However, you do have a golden moment to organize yourself and catch up if the online learning experience has been a particular challenge for you.  Remember the gracious offer of tutoring services from our outstanding alumni, and do not hesitate to reach out to them. 

Per the State Department of Education, Quarter 3 and 4 grades will be combined for one Semester 2 grade.  An interim Progress Report will be available in the Parent Portal the week after Spring Break 

AP Exams:  Last evening our AP teachers and I attended a webinar sponsored by the College Board that outlined their exam processes for this year’s test administration.  Your individual AP teachers will be sharing this information with you to help you make critical decisions to maximize AP success. 

Monday, April 13 is a C-Day (hurricane make-up day): Teachers will use this as a check-in day due to the abbreviated schedule for all classes.  We resume A/B Day on April 14 and 15 forward.

High School Sports League: SCHSL states that all athletic activities will remain suspended through the end of April. On April 22 the SCHSL executive committee will meet to review the Spring sports schedule and the status of COVID-19.

Senior Parents and Students: Look for an email specifically for you on the remainder of the year’s instructional schedule for graduating seniors.  

Special Senior Recognition, Class of 2020: What a wonderful idea to celebrate our seniors and recognize their achievement of graduating from the #1 high school in the country!  If any family has a need, we are happy to supply one to your graduate free of charge!  Email:   


School Choice Updates: As a result of mandated school closures due to COVID-19, the 2020-2021 CCSD School Choice decision notification and confirmation dates have been adjusted to the following dates: 

Decision Notification Date - April 17, 2020, beginning 5:00 pm (Tentative)*
Notification of decisions of acceptance or waitlist status will be emailed to guardians and will be reflected on the guardian’s account dashboard in the applicant portal. It may take several hours for all decisions to be posted.

Seat Acceptance Deadline - May 8, 2020, 7:00 pm  (Tentative)*
All seats will be auto-declined within the final acceptance timeline. A reminder notification will be emailed on May 7, 2020, 24 hours prior to the acceptance deadline, to applicants who have not confirmed their seat acceptance. Once a seat is manually declined or auto-declined, the seat will be automatically offered to the next applicant on the waitlist. 

 Be well and safe and we will be back in touch after Spring Break.

Best of health to all!

Catherine Spencer, Principal


AP Exams link:


Stress Relief

Stop, Breathe, Think is a mindfulness app and they are currently offering a free web-based program during this time dealing with the coronavirus.