Return to Headlines

Fifty CCSD students honored by the College Board’s National Recognition Programs

Charleston County School District (CCSD) is proud to announce 50 students from a combined eight high schools earned academic honors from the College Board National Recognition Programs this fall. These National Recognition Programs grant underrepresented students with academic honors that can be included on college and scholarship applications and connect students with colleges and universities across the country in a meaningful way during the application process. Colleges and scholarship programs identify students as National African American, Hispanic, Indigenous and/or Rural/Small Town Recognition through College Board’s Student Search Service.

The following CCSD scholars received the National African American Recognition Award (NAARA), National Hispanic Recognition Award (NHRA), National Indigenous Award (NIA), or the National Rural and Small Town Award (NRSTA): 


Academic Magnet

Jacob Burke (NAARA)

Keren Collins (NAARA)

Tsemaye Erenshey (NAARA)

Connor Junevicus (NRSTA)

Jackson Millet (NAARA)

Sebastian Najera (NHRA)

Elliot Romero (NHRA)


Charleston Charter School for Math and Science 

Allen-Michael Gadson (NAARA)

Christina McNeish (NAARA)

Jordan Middleton (NAARA)

Toluwalase Olalare (NAARA)

Semilore Olalare (NAARA)


Charleston County School of the Arts

Lydia Plante (NHRA)

Pagelyn Smalls (NAARA)


Early College High School

Cincere Evans (NAARA)

Anastazia Mendones (NAARA)

Sy’mone Miles (NAARA)

Ja’Mya Ruth (NAARA)


James Island Charter High School

Briana Edwards (NAARA)
Levn Masindet (NAARA)

Carter Pena (NHRA)

Marley Walker (NAARA)


Lucy Beckham High School

Alyssa Almaguer (NHRA)

Emilia Guerard (NHRA)


Wando High School

Eva Andrus (NRSTA)

Ethan Arthur (NRSTA)

Sierra Beerer (NRSTA)

Riley Bumgardner (NRSTA)

Sophia Camps (NHRA)

Alexander Fister (NRSTA)

Julia Fragile (NRSTA)

Jacob Hills (NRSTA)

Lauren Johnson (NAARA)

Alice Li (NRSTA)

Kathryn MacDonald (NRSTA)

Mary MacDonald (NRSTA)

Madinabonu Madaminova (NRSTA)

Garrett Mayer (NRSTA)

Alena Merrifield (NRSTA)
Margaret Potter (NRSTA)

Santiago Rivero (NHRA)

Remy Rogers (NRSTA)

Evan Shatz (NRSTA)

Kathryn Sullivan (NRSTA)

Anna Terry (NRSTA)


West Ashley High School

Geraldo Barbosa (NAARA)
Ashlyn Malloy (NAARA)

Anna Mosqueda (NHRA)

Elianna Navarro (NHRA)
Otisha Robbins (NAARA)

Students who may be eligible have a grade point average of 3.5 or higher and have excelled on the PSAT/NMSQT or PSAT 10, or earned a score of 3 or higher on two or more AP Exams; and are African American or Black, Hispanic American or Latinx, Indigenous, and/or attend school in a rural area or small town.

Eligible students will be invited to apply during their sophomore or junior year and will be awarded at the beginning of the next school year. Students will receive their awards in time to include them on their college and scholarship applications. 

“We want to honor the hard work of these students through the College Board National Recognition Programs. This program creates a way for colleges and scholarship programs to connect directly with underrepresented students who they are hoping to reach,” said Tarlin Ray, College Board senior vice president of BigFuture. “We hope the award winners and their families celebrate this prestigious honor and it helps them plan for their big future.” 

For more information, contact the Office of Communications at (843) 937-6303.