Return to Headlines

NMSC awards three CCSD students with $2,500 scholarships

National Merit Scholars



Charleston County School District (CCSD) is proud to announce the following three students earned $2,500 National Merit Scholarships from the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) in 2022: Academic Magnet High School’s Asher L. Wallen, Eli A. Bundy from Charleston County School of Arts (SOA), and Ryan L. Teachman of Wando High School.

They are part of the second wave of winners in the 67th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. A pair of students from Wando earned corporate-sponsored scholarships last month.

The 2,500 Merit Scholar designees were chosen from a talent pool of more than 15,000 outstanding finalists in the 2022 National Merit Scholarship Program.

National Merit $2,500 Scholarship winners are the finalists in each state judged to have the strongest combination of accomplishments, skills, and potential for success in rigorous college studies. The number of winners named in each state is proportional to the state’s percentage of the nation’s graduating high school seniors.

“It only takes a few minutes to see that Asher is a really special young man,” said Academic Magnet’s principal, Jacob Perlmutter. “I am so proud of him and not at all surprised by this award. Congratulations to him and his family.”

NMSC finances most of these single-payment National Merit $2,500 Scholarships. Corporations and company foundations that sponsor awards through NMSC also help underwrite these scholarships with grants they provide in lieu of paying administrative fees. Scholars may use their awards at any regionally accredited U.S. college or university.

“We are incredibly proud of Eli and all he has accomplished as a student artist,” said Dr. Shannon Cook, principal of SOA. “We look forward to seeing what the future holds for him.”

By the conclusion of the 2022 competition, about 7,500 finalists will have been selected to receive National Merit Scholarships totaling nearly $28 million.

These Scholars were selected by a committee of college admissions officers and high school counselors, who appraised a substantial amount of information submitted by both the finalists and their high schools: the academic record, including difficulty level of subjects studied and grades earned; scores from the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®); contributions and leadership in school and community activities; an essay written by the finalist; and a recommendation written by a high school official.

“We are extremely proud of Wando senior Ryan Teachman for receiving the National Merit Scholarship,” Wando Principal Dr. Sherry Eppelsheimer said. “It is with much honor that we recognize him. This scholarship is a direct result of his dedication and drive toward academic achievement and excellence. We wish him continued success in his future endeavors.”

NMSC, a not-for-profit organization that operates without government assistance, was established in 1955 to conduct the National Merit Scholarship Program. The majority of National Merit Scholarships offered each year are underwritten by some 400 independent corporate and college sponsors that support NMSC’s efforts to honor the nation’s scholastically talented youth and encourage academic excellence at all levels of education.

Contact the Division of Strategy and Communications at (843) 937-6303 for more information.