Return to Headlines

Thirteen CCSD students earn 2021 college-sponsored National Merit Scholarships

Charleston County School District (CCSD) is proud to announce 13 graduating seniors are receiving college-sponsored National Merit Scholarships from the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) this year, passing last year’s impressive total of 11. They are part of the third group of winners in the 66th annual National Merit Scholarship Program, which was released today. A total of 21 CCSD students have now received scholarships from NMSC in 2021.

The following CCSD students earned 2021 college-sponsored National Merit Scholarships:

Academic Magnet High School

Justin D. Baek, National Merit College of Charleston Scholarship
Lillian S. Bluestein, National Merit Emory University Scholarship
Owen C. Chapman, National Merit University of South Carolina Scholarship
Landon C. Ethredge, National Merit Clemson University Scholarship
Adam J. Gatch, National Merit Clemson University Scholarship
Simon J. Hughes, National Merit Clemson University Scholarship
Ruth M. Liu, National Merit Clemson University Scholarship
Charles R. Medlock, National Merit Clemson University Scholarship
Molly C. Tippey, National Merit Clemson University Scholarship
Porter D. Zach, National Merit Clemson University Scholarship

Wando High School

Cameron J. Boni, National Merit Clemson University Scholarship
Montanna M. Lussier, National Merit Clemson University Scholarship
Hrishikesh M. Namboodiri, National Merit Clemson University Scholarship 

NMSC released the names of more than 3,100 winners of National Merit Scholarships financed by U.S. colleges and universities. Officials of each sponsor college selected their scholarship winners from among the Finalists in the 2021 National Merit Scholarship Program who plan to attend their institution. These awards provide between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study at the institution financing the scholarship.

“Joining an expanding list of AMHS National Merit Scholarship winners, these 2021 graduates are continuing to set a high bar for future senior classes,” stated Catherine Spencer, principal of Academic Magnet. “These ten Raptors

represent the highest in academic achievement, matched by their legacy of community service and leadership. We celebrate with them and have the highest hopes for their future endeavors.”

This year, 160 higher education institutions are underwriting Merit Scholarship awards through the National Merit Scholarship Program. Sponsor colleges and universities include 85 private and 75 public institutions located in 42 states and the District of Columbia.

“We are very proud of our three Wando students who have been awarded college-sponsored National Merit Scholarships to Clemson University,” said Wando’s principal, Dr. Sherry Eppelsheimer. “Cameron, Montanna, and Hrishikesh have been dedicated to their academics as well as their involvement in all other aspects of Wando. We are certain they will continue to thrive in their future educational endeavors.”

By the conclusion of the 2021 competition, about 7,500 Finalists will have been selected to receive National Merit Scholarships totaling over $30 million. Winners are Finalists who have, according to evaluators, the strongest combination of academic skills and achievements, extracurricular accomplishments, and potential for success in rigorous college studies.

NMSC, a not-for-profit organization that operates without government assistance, was established in 1955 to conduct the National Merit Scholarship Program. The majority of National Merit Scholarships offered each year are underwritten by some 400 independent corporate and college sponsors that support NMSC’s efforts to honor the nation’s scholastically talented youth and encourage academic excellence at all levels of education.

For more information, contact the Division of Strategy and Communications at (843) 937-6303.