Return to Headlines

District celebrates four Rookie Teachers of the Year

Charleston County School District (CCSD) honored four first-year teachers Thursday, August 26, 2021, by surprising them with Rookie Teacher of the Year awards.


Alexis Porfilio (Sullivan’s Island Elementary School), Rebecca Patsalos (Angel Oak Elementary School), Kathleen Remley (Thomas C. Cario Middle School), and Payton Gehrs-Schultz (East Cooper Center for Advanced Studies) were all honored with a surprise visit from Superintendent Dr. Gerrita Postlewait and district staff.


The CCSD 2021 Rookie Teachers of the Year represent the top first-year teachers at the early childhood, elementary, middle, and high school levels. Each teacher was nominated by their principal for embracing Charleston County School District’s vision for teachers who truly exemplify the best in their school. After being selected by the schools, the rookies wrote essays in which they described the ways that they meet the needs of their students and their students’ families. These applications were rated by a team of veteran educators who had the difficult job of finding the top Rookie Teachers of the Year.


“To be recognized as an outstanding first-year teacher is quite an honor,” said Terri Nichols, Associate Superintendent for CCSD. “Not only is an educator's first year in the profession filled with a lot of firsts, last year they had the added challenge of navigating virtual learning during a pandemic and they were fantastic. These wonderful ‘rookie’ teachers are an asset to our district and to the teaching profession."