Return to Headlines

Lucy Beckham repeats as state champs in boys’ lacrosse

LBHS LacrosseLucy Beckham High School remains the top boys’ lacrosse program in South Carolina. The Bengals (13-4) won their second straight South Carolina High School League AAAA state title with a 20-13 victory over Christ Church on April 29, 2023, in Irmo.

Beckham scored three goals in less than a minute in the second quarter to go in front for good at 7-6. Austin Constable led the team with six goals, and Ryan McCarthy found the back of the net four times for LBHS. In addition, Flynn Wilson went over 500 career faceoff wins, and Ryan Weis broke the 400-career-save mark during the state finals. 

The program is now 43-8 overall in three years of existence (including a pair of SCHSL AAAA state titles). The Bengals did not lose to a single in-state opponent this year (they beat all the other teams that appeared in the state finals this year) and had wins over nationally-ranked opponents Episcopal School of Dallas (TX) and Ponte Vedra (FL). 

2023 Roster

Wyatt Atkins
Chalmers Ballard
Luke Barrett
Colton Bennett
Griffin Berry
Henry Brosey
Charlie Broucqsault
Nick Buggie
Grant Bushey
Austin Constable
Wyatt Coombs
Garrett Coombs
Connor Coombs
Brendan Dick
Jacob Doig
Davis Evans
Grant Gallo
Will Hagberg
D Harrison “Bear” Hankins
Baker Hollingsworth
Evan Johnson
Ellis Keith
Seabrook Kellett
AJ Kut
Brooks Leland
John "Jake" Leland
Sam Lucas
Jonah Mack
Ryan McCarthy
Evan Newman
Owen Newman
Web Perry
Bryce Rothwell
Cole Rountree
Connor Simmons
Austin Walton
Chad Weis
Ryan Weis
Flynn Wilson

Head coach: Parker Ferrigan