Return to Headlines

Nine recent CCSD graduates receive 2022 college-sponsored National Merit Scholarships

Nine Charleston County School District (CCSD) students from the graduating Class of 2022 earned college-sponsored National Merit Scholarships from the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) this year. They are part of the third group of winners in the 67th annual National Merit Scholarship Program, which was released earlier this month. A total of 14 CCSD students have now received scholarships from NMSC in 2022.

The following CCSD students earned 2022 college-sponsored National Merit Scholarships:

Academic Magnet High School

Mary C. Compton, National Merit University of South Carolina Scholarship

Kaylin L. Morris, National Merit University of South Carolina Scholarship

Randall C. Reed, Jr., National Merit Clemson University Scholarship

Piper D. Wood, National Merit University of South Carolina Scholarship

Charleston County School of the Arts (SOA)

Elliot C. Catoe-Griffis, National Merit University of South Carolina Scholarship

Ryan M. Kopanski, National Merit Clemson University Scholarship

Wando High School

Maddox R. Barron, National Merit Vanderbilt University Scholarship

Bailey Chave, National Merit Oklahoma State University Scholarship

Nolin P. Harris, National Merit Purdue University Scholarship

NMSC released the names of more than 2,600 winners of National Merit Scholarships financed by U.S. colleges and universities. Officials of each sponsor college selected their scholarship winners from among the finalists in the 2022 National Merit Scholarship Program who plan to attend their institution. These awards provide between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study at the institution financing the scholarship.

These four students, Mary, Kaylin, Randall, and Piper, embody the pursuit of academic excellence regardless of the circumstances,” said Academic Magnet’s principal, Jacob Perlmutter. “They achieved this recognition during the most uncertain times and I am so proud of their accomplishment.

This year, 155 higher education institutions are underwriting Merit Scholarship awards through the National Merit Scholarship Program. Sponsor colleges and universities include 82 private and 73 public institutions located in 42 states and the District of Columbia.

“SOA is thrilled to celebrate this impressive achievement of Elliot and Ryan,” said Dr. Shannon Cook, the principal of Charleston County School of the Arts. “These student-artists have studied, practiced, performed and succeeded! We look forward to all they will accomplish as they move forward to their next challenges.” 

By the conclusion of the 2022 competition, about 7,500 finalists will have been selected to receive National Merit Scholarships totaling nearly $28 million. Winners are students who have, according to evaluators, the strongest combination of academic skills and achievements, extracurricular accomplishments, and potential for success in rigorous college studies.

“We are honored to congratulate three Wando seniors on being offered college-sponsored Merit Scholarships from NMSC,” said Wando’s principal, Dr. Sherry Eppelsheimer. “As Baily Chave, Nolin Harris, and Maddox Barron prepare to attend these wonderful institutions, the Wando High School community stands proud of their academic accomplishments, and we look forward to hearing of their continued success.”

NMSC, a not-for-profit organization that operates without government assistance, was established in 1955 to conduct the National Merit Scholarship Program. The majority of National Merit Scholarships offered each year are underwritten by approximately 400 independent corporate and college sponsors that support NMSC’s efforts to honor the nation’s scholastically talented youth and encourage academic excellence at all levels of education.

For more information, contact the Division of Strategy and Communications at (843) 937-6303.