More Options

CCSD Surprises Top 5 Finalists for Teacher of the Year

CCSD Surprises Top 5 Finalists for Teacher of the Year
Posted on 03/01/2018
CCSD Top 5 Finalists

Becoming a Teacher of the Year at a school is a significant honor. So, to be named a Charleston County School District (CCSD) Teacher of the Year finalist is a huge deal.

Today, five dedicated educators received a major surprise when representatives from CCSD and MINI of Charleston rolled up to their school to tell them they have been selected as a Top 5 finalist for 2018 CCSD Teacher of the Year.

Live announcements and updates were provided on the District’s social media platforms of Facebook and Twitter (@CCSDConnects).

Photos from the day are available on CCSD’s Facebook page. Please courtesy CCSD if your media outlet uses them for publication.

The five finalists for 2018 are:

• Stephanie Haecherl, second grade teacher – Mamie P. Whitesides Elementary School
• Margaret Hale, teacher-librarian – James Island Elementary School
• Amanda Prohaska, Spanish teacher – Mount Pleasant Academy
• Kevin Short, high school science teacher – Charleston County School of the Arts
• Joyce Stewart-Gibbs, third grade teacher – E.B. Ellington Elementary School

The 2018 District Teacher of the Year will be announced at the Teacher of the Year Celebration Dinner on Wednesday, April 25, 2018.

All media partners are invited and encouraged to attend this special evening where CCSD will honor each school’s Teacher of the Year, in addition to announcing the 2018 District Teacher of the Year.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 West Corporation. All rights reserved.