• CCSD Board of Trustees

  • Board of Trustees members are elected countywide in non-partisan elections representing constituent districts as follows: two members from Districts 1 and 2, three members from Districts 3, 9, 10 and 23; and one member from District 20. In November 2020, five seats were filled for two-year terms to join the remaining four seats. 

    The Board is currently in a transition term to single-member districts which will begin with the November 2022 election. Beginning in November 2022, all nine seats will be elected from non-partisan single-member districts with a combination of four-year and two-year terms. By November 2024, all seats will serve four-year terms.

    The Charleston County School District Board of Trustees typically meets on the second and fourth Monday each month. Any exceptions to this meeting schedule will be posted publicly on the CCSD website. Citizens who wish to address the Board may do so by signing in prior to the start of the Board meeting. Speakers are generally allotted 2 minutes to address the Board.*

    *During the COVID-19 pandemic, the Board meetings are held in-person with limited capacity due to distancing protocols. During this time, citizens’ comments are to be submitted in writing to PUBLICCOMMENTS@charleston.k12.sc.us posted on the CCSD website.

    For more information, please contact Julia Erickson at julia_erickson@charleston.k12.sc.us

    Board members receive $800 per month as compensation. The Board Chair receives $900 per month.

  • CCSD on BoardDocs