• 2022 Teacher of the Year Finalists Profiles

  • CCSD TOYCharleston County School District (CCSD) officials surprised five teachers today by announcing their selection of the Top Five  Finalists for 2022 Teacher of the Year. 

    The finalists are Natasha Akery, Academic Magnet High School; Nathalie  Bennett, Northwoods Middle School; Chakadasovavan Or, Julian Mitchell  Elementary School; Ashley Pomposelli, James B. Edwards Elementary  School; and Kory Roberts, Memminger Elementary School. 

    CCSD Interim Superintendent Donald R. Kennedy, Sr. presented each finalist with flowers and a certificate. At each stop along the route, CCSD shared live announcements and updates on its social media platforms  (@CCSDConnects). Photos from the day can also be found there and on  ccsdschools.com. 

    One of the finalists will take over the reins from the district’s current  Teacher of the Year, Adam Barnes, of West Ashley High School. 

  • Meet the Top Five Finalists 

    Natasha Akery
    Academic Magnet High School

    Natasha Akery named a Top Five Teacher of the Year finalist


    Nathalie Bennett 
    Northwoods Middle School

    My web page

    Chakadasovavan Or (coming May 4)
    Mitchell Elementary School

    My web page

    Ashley Pomposelli
    James B. Edwards Elementary

    Ashley Pomposelli named Top Five Teacher of the Year Finalist

    Kory Roberts 
    Memminger Elementary School

    Kory Roberts named Top Five Teacher of the Year Finalist

    For more information, contact the Division of Strategy and Communications at  (843) 937-6303.