• CCSD Board of Trustees

  • CCSD Board of Trustees
    Pictured from left to right: Daron Calhoun, Pamela McKinney, Leah Whatley, Carlotte Bailey, Ed Kelley, Darlene Roberson, Courtney Waters, Keith Grybowski, Dr. Carol Tempel
  • BoardDocsThe members of Charleston County School District's (CCSD) Board of Trustees are elected in non-partisan elections.

    CCSD's Board of Trustees is comprised of nine single-member election districts that correspond with the composition of Charleston County Council election districts. Beginning with the November 2022 election, Board members from voting districts 1, 3, 5, 7, and 9 shall serve terms of four years, while voting districts 2, 4, 6, and 8 shall serve terms of two years each. By November 2024, all seats will serve four-year terms.

    The CCSD Board of Trustees typically meets on the second and fourth Mondays of each month. Any exceptions to this meeting schedule will be posted publicly on the CCSD website.
    Beginning in August 2023, per policy BDE  the Committee of the Whole meeting agendas shall consist of three categories: policy, strategic education, other business. Written and in-person public comments will be reserved for Board Meetings. 

    Citizens who wish to address the Board in person may do so by signing up via a SignUpGenius online registration, posted at noon on the Thursday prior to the meeting. 

    To add clarity to the process and avoid confusion, effective May 18, 2023, there are two links for in-person registrants. Link 1 is designated with thirty (30) slots. The individuals who use Link 1 are guaranteed to have the opportunity to address the board. The second link, Link 2,  will be used if there are more than 30 registrants. An individual registered using the second link, Link 2, below is not guaranteed the opportunity to address the board. The SignUpGenius link will close one hour before the start of the Board meeting. Citizens who wish to address the Board in person but who have not registered via SignUpGenius can sign in at the meeting location before the start of the meeting: 

    Link 1 - Guaranteed link: https://www.signupgenius.com/go/10C0C49AFA622A4FBCE9-45414212-december
    Link 2 - NOT Guaranteed link: https://www.signupgenius.com/go/10C0C49AFA622A4FBCE9-45414209-december

    Please note: Per Policy BE, the time allotted for in-person commentators to address the Board shall not exceed two (2) minutes and shall be evenly divided up if the number of in-person comments and virtual comments to be read aloud exceeds the above-referenced thirty (30) minutes timeframe. This may reduce a speaker's time from 2 minutes to 1 minute, depending on the number of individuals signed up to speak at each meeting. 

    Citizens can submit public comments electronically using this form. All comments posted in the online form prior to one hour before the start of the meeting will be used during the meeting. Those posted after will be used in the next meeting.

    For more information, please contact Trudie Bowles at trudie_bowles@charleston.k12.sc.us. Board members receive $800 per month as compensation. The Board Chair receives $900 per month.